How do I edit a room? (Element)

The settings of a room can be edited after it has been created.

The room settings can be accessed in several ways.
On the left in the sidebar, click on "Settings" via the three-dot menu next to the respective room.
In the room, click on the room avatar at the top.
Clicking on the room name opens a menu bar on the right. This menu bar also opens by clicking on the room info in the top right of the bar. Then select "Settings".

1) Change access

Under Room Settings > Security, you can define who is allowed to enter the room.

The following options are available:

- Private: only invited users can enter the room

- Space members: all members of the respective spaces can join the room

- Public: the room is visible and accessible to everyone

2) History visibility

Also under Room Settings > Security, you can configure who can read the existing history. By default, messages are visible to members from the time of invitation onwards. Changes only apply to future messages.

3) Invite and manage people

The overview of people in the room can be accessed via the avatars in the top right. In the menu bar, the overview is also accessible via People. Using the Invite to this room button, additional people can be invited to the room.

4) Administrate people

Under Settings > Roles and Permissions, users can be administered.

Below Add privileged user, you can search for users in the room and assign them a permission level.

The following permission levels are available:

- Default

- Moderator

- Administrator

- Custom permission level

Privileged users are listed above with their corresponding permission level. This can be changed in the dropdown menu.

Further down, under Permissions, you can configure which role is allowed to perform which action in the room.