How do I edit a room? (FluffyChat)

1) Opening chat details

The chat details or settings for the room can be accessed in two ways.

Select the room on the left in the view and click on the three-dot menu in the top right-hand corner of the room.

Then click Chat details.

The chat details open in the room view.

The chat details can also be accessed by clicking on the room name in the top bar. They will then open as a side panel within the room.

2) Access and visibility

Under Access and visibility, you can configure, amongst other things, from which point the chat history should be visible to members.

The following options are available:

- From the invitation

- From joining

- Visible to all members

- Visible to everyone

You can also configure who is permitted to join the group or room.

  • Anyone may join
  • Users must knock (request to join)
  • Invited members only

3) Chat permissions

Under Chat permissions, you can configure in detail which role is permitted to carry out which action in the chat or room.

Roles are assigned levels (permission levels):

Role Level
User 0
Moderator 50
Administrator 100

In the dropdown, you can select which role is permitted to carry out each action. A custom permission level can also be set. As a rule, the predefined chat permissions can be left as they are. Room members can be assigned a role once they have joined the room.

4) Inviting a contact

Within the chat details, a list of all room members is displayed.

Via Invite contact, additional members can be added to the room.

Users can be invited by display name, e-mail address, or username (e.g. @nickname:fairchat.eu).

Search for contacts and confirm with Invite.


5) Assigning a role

Room members can be assigned a role. To do so, click on the relevant member in the list.

The options will open. If messages have already been exchanged in the room, the options can also be accessed by clicking on the user avatar next to a message.

The following options are available:

- a direct message can be sent to the user (outside the group chat)

- the user role can be set

- the user can be kicked or banned from the chat or room (after being kicked, the user may be able to rejoin the room; after a ban, this is not possible)

- the user can be reported or blocked

The user role can be selected via a dropdown and assigned to the room member accordingly.