If you (or someone else with access to the shared data or sync connection) delete files or folders, they are moved to the recycle bin (bottom left). We automatically delete files in the recycle bin after 180 days, and potentially sooner should storage space become scarce (which rarely occurs).
Before Nextcloud upgrades, we typically create snapshots of the data and the database.
The storage runs on RAID6 and tolerates the failure of multiple hard drives. Please note: you are responsible for your own data; fairkom provides no guarantee against data loss.
The data is backed up 3 times per week to a server in a different data centre. Hopefully you will need this as little as we do – you should in any case have a copy of your data on all synchronised clients or in the recycle bin. Restoring folders from the fairkom backup requires manual intervention (2–4 hours).